How do I changing run levels 3 to 5?

Default run level is defined in /etc/inittab file. In order to change Linux runlevel from 3 to 5, you need to modify this file. Please follow the instructions outlined below:

1) Login as root user

2) Open /etc/inittab file using vi text editor or gedit GUI text editor
# vi /etc/inittab

Open terminal command line and type following command
# gedit /etc/inittab

3) Look for the default runlevel called initdefault which look like as follows:
Please note that an initdefault entry specifies the runlevel which, should be entered after system boot. If none exists, init will ask for a runlevel on the console. The process field is ignored. Note number 3 in above line defines default runlevel.

4) Replace runlevel 3 to 5:

5) Save the changes

6) Reboot linux to take effect. Next time Linux will boot into X windows GUI (KDE or Gnome)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s